Today we will be looking at the latest Mechanic to be introduced into the Star Trek DBG Universe.
Handheld will be found on Maneuvers initially and will features a fancy symbol just like Ongoing. It will have a symbol right above the Characteristic line on the right side as shown below:
Any card that is Handheld will feature this image so it is easier to know what is and isn’t Hand Held. When you play the game the first few times it will be important to double check the cards that you buy for this symbol so you don’t misplay them later.As the name suggests Handheld will represent the various items that a person needs to hold to use from the Star Trek Universe. It would probably be easier for you to understand how Handheld works if you saw it on as card, so here is one of the first cards that a player will see with Handheld.
Hand Phaser says “During your turn, if the user has a cost of 5+, you may trash this card. If you do, you get +3 XP. This XP can only be spend on Maneuvers.”
Let’s start off with the basic of how the mechanic works. First, you must designate a Character on your bridge to hold the Handheld card which means you cannot play this Maneuver unless you have someone on your bridge to hold it, which adds a little restriction to all Handheld cards. This means that you have to remember to have a descent amount of Characters in your deck at all times to make sure there is someone that can hold it. Usually this won’t be a problem as most players buy a lot of Characters already. Next, the Character that you choose to hold this card, cannot be holding any other card at that time, which means that each Character can only hold 1 Handheld. You will want to avoid buying too many Handheld cards or else you will run out of Characters to hold it. Lastly you should have noticed that the term user is used in the effect of the Hand Phaser, well the user is the Character holding the card and most Handheld cards will have some effect that references the user and may even become stronger depending on who uses it.
Here are additional rules for Handheld:
- Once the Handheld is played it doesn’t matter what happens to the user, you will get the effect and stats of that Handheld. This means that even if the user is discarded, the Handheld will stay on your bridge as usual. Any X stats that the Handheld might have or where based on the user will still remain whatever they were set to when the card was played.
- Although a Character may only hold 1 Handheld, if the Handheld they have is removed from the bridge, that Character can hold another Handheld.
- The Handheld adds its Stats to your Flagship like any other card on your bridge, not to the Character that is holding it.