1) If I play a Lieutenant to my bridge, then a Commander, I have 5 xp. If I use this xp to purchase another Commander, where does he go? The rules do not state if he comes on my bridge or goes into the discard, just that, "You may spend your XP points to gain cards from Starbase." If he were to come on my bridge would he give me yet another 3 xp to spend?
2) If I upgrade a Lieutenant from my hand using Starfleet Academy to a Commander, does that Commander go to my hand? Does the upgraded Lieutenant get discarded, or trashed?
3)Alternately, if I play the Lieutenant to my bridge, gaining his xp, then upgrade him to a Commander after playing Starfleet Academy, does the new Commander go to my bridge, giving me +3 xp, for a total of +5 xp, or will the Lieutenant's xp be lost if unused before upgrading?
Thanks in advance!