Hi, this is a collection of the questions asked on this forum. I have not had a chance yet to format/arrange them in specific orders yet, but that will come in time.
Most of the answers I can attribute to Alex_Bandai, Thank you, for your dedication to answering the FAQ.
* Alex If you see any ruling mistakes. Pleas let me know and I will fix them.
If this topic has helped you, pleas take the time to give this a good rating.
(?) indicates something that I am unsure of, and am waiting for a clarification.
Q & A
Does the player have to take all 5 motions each turn?
-No, you may perform any of the motions you wish to perform, up to the number of times allowed, as you wish to perform; in any order you wish.
Is the only way to gain gold by using ammo during exploration?
- Once Played, the ammo and gold on the card can be used for the rest of the turn, unless otherwise stated.
Paying for weapons
- You spend bullets to use weapons, as long as you don't spend more bullets then you have, you can spend them as you want. so if you had 3 x 30 bullets for a total of 90, you could spend 50 for the magnum in your hand, and 40 for the 2 handguns you have.
When exploring do you have to use items you take with you?
-If you played a weapon, you must use them, even if you faced no infected.
Can you save anything for the next turn?
- No. At the end of your turn, everything you played and that is in your hand is discarded.
can I play multiple weapons when I am fighting?
- You can use as many weapons as you can supply the required bullets for.
What happens if I decided to play with the rocket launcher or Gatling gun in the resource pile?
- Take their respective tokens out of the mansion deck, and when the Rocket Launcher gets trashed it goes back to the resource pile instead.
When do you activate a weapon's effect?
- The effects are performed just before you touch the Mansion deck, or attack another player.
How does the Automatic Shotgun work?
- If the first infection would be killed by the effect of the gun, you have a couple choices. If you have other weapons with ammo for them, you can take the decoration, and make another explore with them. OR you may take the second explore and possibly face another infection. You would then need to kill this second infection to collect the decoration, otherwise you loose it all like normal.
- You receive the +1 exploration only once, and ONLY if its effect is triggered.
- If you used the Automatic Shotgun on a single explore, and its effect was not used, and you do a second explore with another weapon, then the effect can still trigger, if an infected with 40 hp or lower shows up. The damage would not, just the kill effect and the extra explore.
How does Trashing work?
- When a card is trashed, it is placed on the bottom of its respected resource pile. If it does not have one, it creates one. Exception, If the rocket launcher started in the Mansion deck, its token is returned to it, and the Rocket Launcher is removed from play again.
How Do You Use Weapons Twice?
- You must pay both the weapons original cost, and the cost again if you wish to use it a second time.
- You may only do this if a card says you can.
What happens if you play a card outside your turn?
- If you play a card outside your turn, it is discarded, and you do not get any of the play on your turn effects, as it is discarded.
When Do I Choose My Weapons?
- You choose any and all weapons you wish to bring with you before touching the mansion deck. Once chosen, they are used and you may not change for the rest of the turn.
If I have Multiple Explores and I cannot defeat the infected reveled, can I use the rest of my Explores first before doing the damage?
-Yes, you may keep exploring as long as you have explores left; However, you will still have to face all of the damage, and potential penalties for all infecteds revealed.
If I am defeated can I still collect Tokens or Items reveled?
-Yes, you collect all tokens and items as soon as you discover them.
How does Multiple buys work?
-If you have multiple buys, add up your total gold. Then you may buy x items, where x is the number of buys you have, that combined total, does not exceed your gold you have played this turn.
Master of Unlocking
- You gain that card from their deck, not from the resource row.
Who is Adjacent?
- The player to your left and right, or the person who turn is just before, and after you. A player can only be adjacent to you once.
When you play Deadly Aim, if you use a Grenade, do the adjacent players take 10 extra damage from the grenades effect
- No it deal 5 damage to each player adjacent, the +10 Damage only changes the Damage of the Weapon not Damaged caused by its effect. - Edited by Alex
What happens if you have no draw pile, and are asked to reveal your top card?
- Nothing happens, you only reshuffle your discard pile to make a draw deck if you try to draw and there are no cards left.
What happens when you loose the game?
- When you loose the game, all of your cards get returned to their respective piles.
What ammo counts for Chain Gun Majini?
- All ammo that you have played are counted for Majini. Those you have not played do not count. So you might want to explore before you decide to buy if you are not afraid of dying, as you choose the order in which you do things.
When do you do the effects on abilities?
- You perform ability symbols first, and then the effects.
Example: Umbrella Corporation ~~ you would Draw 2 cards, and get 1 extra action. Then place one card from your hand on top of your draw deck.
- However many bullets you assign to the Chain Gun, it has that much damage.
Example: (character) level 2 ability gives the magnum +20 damage, and you have a magnum, and the chain gun with +100 bullets total. You could take the Magnum for 50 bullets, and then put the last 50 bullets into the chain gun for 120 damage total. (50 from the magnum, 20 from the ability, and 50 from the Chain Gun as you used 50 bullets for it.)
- Can only be used when you explore. So no freebie player damage, sorry.
- When Deadly Aim is used with a grenade, it does +10 damage to Infected, it does NOT do +10 damage to the adjacent players. -Edited by Alex
- Adjacent players are the person who takes their turn before, and after you. In a 2 player game, it only hits the other player once.
- You skip over dead players and hit the next one in that direction unless it's yourself.
- Exploring is not mandatory, except when stated on a card.
- To get the +1 explore from the shotgun you MUST use the shotgun. so unless you have another way of getting the +1 explore, you should use the shotgun first.
- You may explore in 2 way. First you may open the door multiple time in a row using the same weapons. Second, by exploring with separate weapons.
Example, you have 2 Magnums, 100 bullets, and 2 explores.
First way: you would explore with both magnums giving you 100 attack to deal with both Infections.
Second way: you could do an explore with only 1 magnum, facing an infection, and then attack a second time with the second magnum. However, both attacks are at only 50 damage each.
- After you are done exploring, the weapons you used CAN NOT be used again that turn. the Rocket launcher, and grenades will be trashed once you stop, so if you do 3 combined explores, you’ll fight the three at the same time. if you do separate explores, they will be trashed as soon as the explore they are used in is over.
- When played, they add bullets and gold that you can use on your turn.
- Bullets can be spent on weapons, Gold on buying cards.
- You can play them whenever on your turn, however, there is an infected that if lost to, will do damage based on how many bullets you have played so far. So beware, it may be better just to play enough for your weapons if you are going exploring, and then play the rest after and then buy your cards.
Playing cards when they would have no effect.
- Yes, you perform as much as you can, even if that ends up being nothing.
Can I choose not to perform a part of a card?
- No, you must perform as much as you can.
Can I buy items back if I’ve trashed it on my turn?
- Depends on when you do it. Since you can perform things in the order of your choice, if you save your buy till the end of your turn, you can buy anything you've trashed back. That is unless you die because of an explore.
If an Infected and one of my effects have the same timing, which one goes first?
- The Infected's effects will always go before your effects.
When is a player out of the game?
-Every time a character dies they get flipped down, and then back up on their next turn. When this happens, they get -20 to their max life. If when they get flipped up, and their max life is 0 or less, that player is out of the game. The yellow herbs are included in this calculation, as it gives your character +10 to their max life.
Example: Claire Redfield stars off with 70 max life, Claire would loose the game if she dies for a 4th time. 70 - 80 = -10.
- When a player is out of the game, that player trashes all of the cards in his hand, in play, discard pile and deck. (?)the player KEEPS ALL of their decoration. it is possible to be out of the game, and still win, though not as likely.
How do the teams work?
- Teams work together sharing the combo streak and decorations.
- Team members do not take their turns together and players can sit in any order.
-The combo continues as long as 1 of the teammates kills an infected during their turn. If by the end of a players turn none of their team have killed an infection since the end of his/her last turn. The combo is over.
-Items, bonuses, and tokens do not count towards the combo. So you will need to either get another explore some how, or hope that your partner kills an infected on their turn.
When do you level?
- The characters only level after their combo streak is over.
How do turns work?
- The game starts with 15 turn count. After the last player has taken their turn, the turn count gets lowered by 1. When the turn count = 0, game is over and everyone counts up their score.
Bonus Cards in Mercenaries Mode?
- Increase the turn count by however much the bonus card says to add.
Grenades and teammates?
- If you use a grenade and a teammate is adjacent to you, they take the damage still.
- You may allow players to choose their character. This would be to prevent people being stuck with low life. Determine among yourself who would pick first.
- In Vs Mode, instead of going into the mansion you choose a player, and deal your weapon damage to that player. You do not need to do enough to kill the player; however, you only get a decoration if you do enough damage to kill the player.
- If you fail to kill the infected, the damage does not stay on the infected. The next player must try to take it on at its full strength.
When Fatally injured:
-on your next turn after you are fatally injured, all you are allowed to do is flip your character face up, and draw your new hand of 5. You may not do anything else.
- While Face down, you are immune all effects.
- unless stated otherwise, each use power can only be used once per turn.
- Leon's level 2 basically means that for every pistol you have, you may play 1 invisible copy of that pistol. (you must pay the Bullet Requirement of this other pistol.)
Albert Wesker Vs. Jill Valentine
- Wesker's says explore next turn and Jill skips that turn, so nothing happens and Wesker's effect does nothing.
- At level 1, every Ammunition card has +10 bullets. At level 2, Every Ammunition card gives you +10 bullets and +10 Gold. This includes the level 1 bonus. HOWEVER, these bonuses apply only to the ammunition cards, not to actions that give you gold or bullets.
- The +10 ammo you get from her level one count towards Chain Gun Majini if you fail to defeat him.
- Albert Wesker effect stacks, so every time he explores, he gets +20 gold. So if you braved 3 explores, you get +60 gold.
- If you skip your turn, you don't draw at the end of your turn for Jill's effect but you do get to start the next turn with an additional Buy, Action, and Explore. This effect can not stack. So even if you skip your turn twice in a row, when you do play, you still only get the one additional Buy, Action, and Explore.
- (?)If you have skipped your turn, and someone then skips your turn, (either you loose your bonuses, or your loose an additional turn, and the bonuses of your effect)
- Jill's +5 damage to grenades only affects the Damage icon of the Weapon, not the effect. -Edited by Alex.
-His first effect is always active.
-His +5 damage is applied each time you reveal an infected.
-Ada gets to look at the top card and decide to either flip it or place it on the bottom of the mansion deck, and flip the unknown next card.
- The reduce Damage Infected deal to Chris by 10, does NOT work on Nemesis 20 damage to all when revealed.
- Effect can only be used once per your turn.
Yes, you can gain the knife on top of its resource pile, Even the survival knife, and put it in your discard pile. You can NOT gain it from other players. (Master's of unlocking can get it for you though)
- When using her second level effect, you can not trash the Green Herb nor First Aid and get their ability. They both must be trashed from their own effect to heal.
Please edit this to state the corrected rulings about the grenades effects in conjunction with deadly aim or lvl 2 Jill.
/edit: Thanks, alex :)
Hi, question.. What happens to the yellow herb that the non-promo chris revealed? Can players choose not to take a token or yellow herb whn it is revealed and get to explore again?.. Thank you
Erm. Chris DOES NOT obtain the yellow herb, goes back to the bottom of the mansion and his explore has been expanded. It basically means he WILL end his turn unless he has another explore or explores twice in one go.
Originally Posted by Wayne Cho
For the card "BACK TO BACK" who gets the +1 action, the player that's being dealt the damage to or the player dealing the damage?
eblob88: Short answer: No one.
When using the card BACK TO BACK, you can either: PLAY the card during your turn to give yourself the extra gold and the action OR you discard it to get the written effect during another players turn (or even your own if you want to sabotage yourself).
Thanks, here's another basic question. If I start the turn with 5x ammo 10 cards, can I cash it to buy a $50 worth of card? Because this ammo into money concept is kind of weird (especially when u also load the ammo into a weapon, you also get the money as well?)
And in another similar situation where you draw a hand gun (pistol), with 2x ammo 10 cards, and 2x ammo 20, can I play all ammo including the gun to explore where 20 is being used on the hand gun and 40 being able to buy resources or 60 being able to buy resources?
Thanks a bunch guys
During your turn you never lose your gold. If you have 3x +30 ammo and a magnum and you load fifty of that ammo to fire the magnum that turn during the time you choose to make your purchase all gold accumulated through out the turn is added up.
Originally Posted by eblob88