The End Phase & N-US035 & C-019
At this time, and actually for a while now, any "At the End of the turn," effects are organized at the end of the turn. This Timing is not considered to be a phase, and is meant to activate effects in one Chain at the end of the turn, similar to "At the beginning of the turn,", "At the beginning of the Battle Phase,", etc.
Using the layout shown in post #3 here:
At the end of the turn all Mandatory effects that activate at the end of the turn are ordered as such:
All of the Attacker's Mandatory "At the End of the/your Turn" effects activate and are placed on the Chain and ordered per the Attacker.
All of the Blocker's Mandatory “At the End of the Turn” effects activate and are placed on the Chain and ordered per the Blocker.
After these two groups, then the players take turns placing optional effects on the Chain as noted.
Which leads to the following:
M-US035 has an errata, which really isn't an errata, it just templates the last effect to bring it current (which a number of other effects will have done as well very soon), which is posted in the errata section, and noted here:
Effect: You can change 1 other Ninja in this Ninja's Team to injured status. In that case, that Ninja cannot be targeted by your opponent's Jutsu cards during the turn.
At the end of the turn, heal that injured Ninja.
The last effect is a Mandatory effect. The first effect is an Optional effect.
The Mandatory effect cannot go on the Chain if the Ninja has not been injured previously by the Optional effect. Therefore, injuring that Ninja with M-US035's effect at the end of the turn, will result in an injured Ninja. If done, the Timing for the Mandatory effect has already passed, and does not have a Timing window to activate in, not even in the next turn, since at that time the Ninja was injured in a previous turn.
Additionally, the optional effect can be activated anytime during the turn that an optional effect can be activated. These include:
The Mission Phase
The Send Out steps in the Battle Phase
The Exchange of Jutsu
J (4.0.1) Showdown
At the end of the turn, after Mandatory effects have already been Chained.
The steps leading to the "At the end of the turn," in the End Phase have no Timing for an effect to be optionally activated. Neither does the Return. So the last chance that a player could activate M-US035's effect (in order to use the Mandatory effect at the end of the turn) is during the Battle Phase, more specifically during the Showdown, in J (4.0.1) shown in post #4 of the above link.
This ruling is a change to the way players have played this combination previously, but is consistent with rulings being given in the new Q&A as of this time.
Last edited by Mr Wheat : 07-27-2009 at 02:42 PM.