Quoting (and bolding) in agreement:
Originally Posted by Sai'ix Renkai
You ARE putting in play a reinforcement though!
You are putting in a copy of that ninja. Therefore, any characteristics are also being copied. All Reinforcement ninjas have "REINFORCEMENT" in their characteristic lines. Therefore, you must follow the reinforcement rules.
The fact that the copy is represented by a coin or, dare I say it, token
doesn't mean it gets around the rules for Reinforcement ninjas.
OK, you can now get into this pointless token vs. coin debate.