Originally Posted by a_n_o
I just wanted an explanation why C059's (Giant Eagle) effect does not trigger if 4/5 of the cards discarded by N1499's (Yamato) effect are revitalize. Recent threads have pointed out that even if cards discarded are revitalize then effects still resolve, such as N1491 (Ino Childhood) and N1335 (Tenten). This to me sounds like the rulings contradict one another...
Does C059's effect only trigger when cards actually hit my discard? Also how many times can I use C059's effect in a turn, because I have seen that effects like N1500's (The 1st Hokage) can only be used once per turn?
Also, as long as the answer to the first question is yes, then it is my understanding that as long as 2 or more cards are discarded by N1499's effect then C059's effect will trigger. That means that 3/5 of the cards can still be revitalize. Is this interpretation correct or does C059's effect not trigger even if 1/5 cards are revitalize?
If someone could please clarify that would be great!
Edit: Just as a sidenote...are there any situations where I can choose the order in which revitalize cards go to the bottom of my deck? Like if I used them to pay for a jutsu or if two were sent to the discard off of m740's (Monster Research) effect.
Example of C059 & N1499 ruling: Here
Example of N1491 & N1335 ruling: Here
The rulings are different because of what is being replaced.
When a cost is being replaced, you are still considered to have paid the cost, even if you did not do exactly what the cost said to do. An example would be
. n1491 has a cost of discarding the top 3 cards of your deck. Even if any of those cards had Revitalize you would still be considered to have paid the cost.
When an effect is normally replaced, the original effect is not considered to have happened.
says to discard the top 5 cards of your deck. If any of those cards had Revitalize, then that card is moved to the bottom of your deck instead. Since that card was moved to the bottom of your deck and not to the discard pile, that card is not considered to have been discarded.
If an effect discards 2 cards from the top of your deck and both cards make it to the discard pile, then
would trigger. But if one of the 2 cards had Revitalize, only one card would be considered to have been discarded.
c059 can trigger multiple times during a single turn.
c059 will trigger off of n1499 as long as at least 2 of the 5 cards discarded by Yamato do not have Revitalize.
You can choose the order in which cards with Revitalize are sent to the bottom of your deck if they are sent to the discard pile to pay for a Jutsu or by a card like